Quality Care

Northern Light Health Earns Second Davies Award, Improving Outcomes and Engagement

HIMSS is proud to recognize Northern Light Health as a 2023 HIMSS Davies Award recipient, the second Davies Award for the organization.

Comprising of 10 member hospitals with 987 licensed beds, a single physician-led medical group, eight nursing homes with 585 long-term beds, and 37 primary care locations, Northern Light Health is Maine’s only integrated healthcare system.

As part of its mission to make healthcare work for the patients they serve, Northern Light Health leverages technology to improve patient outcomes and engagement as well as streamline both the clinician and patient experience. 

Northern Light Health’s submission for the Davies Award focused on its ability to drive evidence-based practices through thoughtful applications of information and technology.

The three case studies each highlight the use of analytics to drive adoption of technology to improve patient outcomes as well as the care team’s experience with the EHR.

Northern Light Health Davies Award Case Studies

Northern Light Health’s success is deeply supported by a “people, process, and technology” based culture and a strong clinician-led governance model.

“Receiving the HIMSS Davies Award is a significant accomplishment for any organization, but to receive it twice is quite an honor,” says April Giard, Chief Digital & Innovation Officer at Northern Light Health. “I am so proud of the culture we’ve been able to develop at Northern Light Health that allows for a true partnership between our IT, informatics, and clinical teams in order to provide high quality patient care.”

HIMSS Davies Award of Excellence

The Davies Awards program promotes the HIMSS vision and mission by recognizing and highlighting use cases, model practices and lessons learned on how to improve health and wellness through the power of information and technology. Showcasing healthcare delivery systems, physician practices, community health organizations, long term and post-acute care sites and public health organizations, the HIMSS Davies Award shares evidence-based case studies that are driving the reform of the global healthcare ecosystem through the power of information and technology.

HIMSS Davies Awards

The HIMSS Davies Award of Excellence showcases healthcare organizations that demonstrate globally innovative, thoughtful applications of information and technology to drive and redefine evidence-based best practices so that others can learn, adapt and improve population health and patient outcomes.

Begin Your Path to a Davies Award

Published on